Damita Chandler (formerly Damita Haddon) sat down for an exclusive interview with Gospel Pages Weekly.

Damita Chandler

Damita has taken many lessons from her 15-year marriage to Deitrick Haddon.  “Being in a relationship really teaches you how to deal with people’s personalities, weaknesses, and flaws.”  Since her divorce, she has been doing just fine. “Life is amazing! In reference to the divorce, we haven’t been together since 2011. We have both moved on the way God planned. I believe that God allows things to
happen in our lives. I put my total trust in Him … I am better than okay.” The Bible teaches that it is difficult for two to walk together unless they agree. We asked Damita if this was an area of difficulty in her marriage. “Concerning spiritual things, we always agreed. However, in the natural, you aren’t going to agree on everything. Just because you don’t agree, it doesn’t mean it should tear up a relationship, whether it’s a friendship, marriage or whatever. We did agree on most things. Of course, we had different opinions and outlooks, but at the end of the day it’s about coming to a common denominator and common ground. For the most part, years ago there was agreement.”

Damita has found herself in the public eye for her marriage to Haddon, her career, and her appearance on “Preacher’s Wives of LA.” She says neither her time in the spotlight, nor her ex-husband’s career, led to the divorce. When asked if she believes in love, she replied: “There isn’t just a single thing. It’s not like a one answer solution, it depends on the situation. I would say that love works. My current husband and I [have a motto] – ‘Love will work when two people want it to work.’ I’d say when you want it to work, put forth the effort to make it work. The moment one person chooses not to, it totally causes a chain reaction. Everything that you built together begins to collapse. Love is the foundation of a relationship … period. I’m not talking about the goosebumps & butterflies nor the heart skipping-a- beat-type of love, but agape love that God talks about in the scripture; the love that doesn’t hurt nor cause any wrong.”

The Haddock divorce was flooded with confusion, public humiliation on both sides, accusations and social media post wars­including indirect stabs at Damita from Deitrick’s current wife, Dominique. The controversy wreaked havoc on the congregation (the Haddocks pastored a church together in Detroit during their marriage) and shook the Christian community. Deitrick pointed the finger at recording artist, Isaac Carree, accusing him of infidelity with Damita, sparking their divorce.

Damita encourages couples not to take love for granted. “I would tell married people, and especially those looking to get married, to analyze yourself and not the other person. If you are ready – really ready- you will question compatibility and things that we normally don’t deal with before getting married.” The circumstances and trials she faced positively influences her music, writing, mentoring, singing, and speaking. “I’ve been able to help numerous first ladies, preacher’s wives, and regular people … ”
Being an avid Christian and believer, Damita values humility. “My situation, my life, and what I’ve been through prepared me to help [others]. I believe that’s why God chose me to go through what I went through – so I could be a light to someone else. Sometimes we try to lie our way out of life. I’m able to tell the truth and keep it real. Keep it real about who and what you are. That’s just the way it is.”


One of Damita’s inspirational songs is “I Won’t Turn Back.” “This song is very detailed concerning my mentality and what I’ve seen. I’ve learned that I’m the only person that I hurt by staying in the mind frame of the past, or the same patterns of grief. You get stuck in a holding pattern of ‘what would have been’. In order to move forward and become everything that I was meant to be, I have to move forward. I’m not looking back and staying stuck in a situation. ‘I Won’t Turn Back’ isn’t just a song- I apply it to my life.”

Luke Adams, Sting, Janet Jackson, Tina Turner, Dorinda Clark, Vickie Winans, CeCe Winans and Vanessa Bell are artists that Damita enjoys and have been her sources of inspiration. When asked if she had any advice for aspiring artists, Damita said, “Above all, keep singing! You’re setting yourself up if you are dormant and not doing anything with [your gift]. Get involved! If you’re in a church, get in the choir and sing – get on the praise team. You don’t always have to lead, you just need to be doing something and training your ear and voice to get better. Aspire to be the best background singer, harmonizer, praise and worship leader or section leader. When you love to sing, you just love to sing and grow as a singer.”
Damita wants people to see the joy, happiness, and overwhelming love she has today and the man that God has sent into her life. “I want to make sure that is represented, and that my story is told the right way.” Look for Damita in the many venues in which she shares the gospel.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.